A Single Girl, John Mayer and a Box of Crayons

Tomorrow is my birthday and every year as another birthday approaches, I reflect on the year before.  Mostly, I am thankful and happy about what great accomplishments I made or goals I reached, but I also reflect on my personal life, particularly my love life.

I have never been married, and I don’t have any children.  I am in my 30’s and I am single.  I have been for quite some time.  I do go on dates, but not nearly as much as I did over a year ago, when I was very active on almost every online dating site.  Before you feel sorry for me or tell yourself that there must be something wrong with me, you should know that I live a good life, I have a great circle of friends and I’m anything but lonely.

I’m often asked who I’m dating or if I have a boyfriend, and when I say I’m single people look at me as if I’m an alien with twenty-six eyes. Twenty-Six eyes

They usually follow up with the question, “Why?”  Before, I never quite knew how to answer them so I usually said something like, ‘Well, your guess is as good as mine, because I’m a great catch!’  Then, I laughed and quickly moved on to another topic.

The truth is I do know why.

A while ago I came across a quote by John Mayer that was really interesting.  I rarely ever make note of quotes from celebrities, but when I read this one, I thought it summed up why I’m single (well from a guy’s point of view) and how I feel when I meet guys.  I copied his quote and slightly changed it to fit me, as a woman.  Here’s the altered version:

Life is like a box of crayons.  Most people are the 8 color boxes, but what you’re really looking for are the 64 color boxes with the sharpeners on the back.

Crayola-64-small

I fancy myself to be a 64 color box, though I’ve got a few missing. It’s okay though, because I’ve got some more vibrant colors like periwinkle at my disposal.
I have a bit of a problem though in that I only meet the 8 color boxes. Does anyone else have that problem?
I mean there are so many different colors of life, of feeling, of articulation. So when I meet someone who’s an 8 color type, I’m like, Hey, Cerulean!  And he’s like, Oh, you mean blue!  And he goes off on his blue thing, and I’m like, No…I want Cerulean!

Crayola-Sharpener-sm

For some reason, people think being single, unmarried and unattached to a significant other means I’m lonely and unhappy.  It doesn’t mean that at all.  It really just means I’ve learned to bypass those 8 color boxes of crayons, so I’ll be ready and available when I meet a 64 color box.

