Tokina Is One Year Old Today!

Today was a great day.  Well actually today was not that great.  I have had much better days, but this post is not about all the ways today could have been better.

This post is about a special dog named Tokina.

Tokina (pronounced Toe-key-Nah) is my Lab, Cocker Spaniel, Dachshund mixed puppy and today, January 3rd is her 1st birthday!   Now, before I continue to talk about her birthday photo session and how we bought pupcakes for her to celebrate her special day, I don’t want you to assume I’m one of those dog people.  You know, one of those people that thinks their dog is a human and treats it better than they do their family or friends.  I’m not, but since I don’t have children yet, I don’t see anything wrong with showing extra love to my dog, especially on her birthday.  After all, dogs are man’s  best friends and she’s probably the only one who could care less what I look like, how much money I have or don’t have, what kind of vehicle I drive or what clothes I’m wearing.  Truthfully, she has this unconditional affection for me, so the least I can do is make her birthday a bit more special with a tasty peanut butter and cheese pupcake or two and a photo session.

pupcake

Last night, somewhere between my home and driving to Lofty Dog, a popular Austin pet store that sells gourmet treats, my sister and I had the bright idea of buying Tokina a party hat to go along with the birthday pupcakes we had already planned to purchase.  Obviously we didn’t remember what it was like to be one and being forced to wear a party hat.  I’m sure Tokina wishes we had skipped the hat, forgone the photos and just given her the pupcakes, but we didn’t and here are the photos.

I can say, photographing my dog was about as fun as photographing a one year old child.  She was squirmy, unpredictable, and we had to bribe her to get her to stay still for a few seconds.  However, I did get a few cute shots and we’ll have great memories of her 1st birthday for years to come.

I know she can’t read this, but Tokina, please forgive us for making you wear the party hat and take pictures.  We hope it was just a small price to pay for those delicious pupcakes you got to enjoy!

Happy Birthday!

