Jot, Naked, Smoothies With Paper by 53: My Favorite Things

This week was fun for me.

Really fun, like “jump up and down and get superly, dooperly excited, with lots of exclamation points” type fun!  Of course, what constitutes fun varies from person to person, and sometimes the smallest things bring the greatest joy.  I thought I’d take a moment and post about  FIVE of my favorite things this week.

Favorite Thing #5: “V” Monogrammed Mug from Anthropologie

Some say I’m a little slow sometimes when it comes to opening gifts and using them.  I’m a bit ashamed to admit it, but I still have housewarming gifts sitting in my guest room closet that I was given four years ago when I bought my house.  :-/  I know.  It’s sad.

Anyway, my neighbors got me a Monogrammed Mug from Anthropologie for Christmas, and I’m happy to say, I used it for the first time this week.  Most people who know me, know I drink ridiculous amounts of green tea.  Next to water, and before wine, it is my favorite drink of choice.  Because of this, I’m always a tad bit excited when I get to drink from a new mug, especially one as cute and as well made as this one:

Anthropologie-Monogrammed-Mug-V

Favorite Thing #4: Fruit and Spinach Smoothies

The older I get, the more important it becomes to be healthier.  There was a time when I could eat junk food, skip fruits and vegetables and my body didn’t really notice.  Now in my thirties, my body doesn’t function properly if I don’t get enough green leafy vegetables and fresh fruits.  Spinach is my favorite edible leaf, but even I get bored with raw and cooked spinach.  I was excited to find a few recipes online that allowed me to blend a few of my favorite fruits with spinach and ice, creating a tasty smoothie that serves as a snack or meal replacement.  In the morning when I don’t have time to sit and enjoy scrambled eggs and a small bowl of cheesy grits, I pour a cup of this green yummy goodness and it holds me over for a few hours.

Favorite Thing #3: NAKED Basics by Urban Decay

I was a little late to the make-up club.  My first eyeshadow was applied by a make-up artist when I was 24 and working for a popular magazine in Chicago that required me to wear heavy makeup.  Before then, I had never worn more than lip gloss.  Since then, I still don’t wear a lot of make-up, but I do like having three basic products: a good lip gloss, a great, lightweight mascara and awesome eye shadows.  Speaking of the latter, I believe there is a time and place for bright, bold, color rich eye shadows.  I, however, prefer, natural, neutral tones.  The neutral eye shadows that I am absolutely loving right now are in the NAKED Basics palette by Urban Decay.  This palette features six versatile satin and matte shades that are great to layer with vivid hues or simply wear alone, which I do 99% of the time.  It’s become my new go-to palette!

Favorite Thing #2: Jot Capacitive Touch Stylus

The iPad2 is my favorite, functional tech gadget.  Often I use it more than my iPhone.  The iPad has made my creative world become easily accessible on the go.  I recently downloaded an app that elevates my writing and drawing capabilities to a different level, and I’ve learned that the standard stylus pen with a rubber tip that I sometimes use, is too wide.  Frustrated with the lack of a fine point, I searched online to find a stylus that actually better resembles the point and flow of a pen.  That’s when I found Jot, by Adonit. It feels like a pen, it writes like a pen, and it’s the best stylus, “hands down”.

Jot-Stylus-Adonit-iPad

So, what was the one thing that got me all excited this week and made me feel as overjoyed as a kid with a new toy???

My #1 Favorite Thing: Paper by 53

Paper 53

Paper is a BAD-ASS art illustration app that was released in 2012 by a company called fiftythree.  This app allows you to draw, sketch, paint, color and write all on your iPad.  I don’t believe in love at first sight, but the very moment I saw this app and downloaded it, I was in creative Heaven!

With Paper, I can create interior design plans:

Office Space

Write to-do lists:

To Do List

Create a handy color palette:

Color Palette

And draw pictures of fish (Excuse my drawing.  This was quickly drawn from an image of a koi online.):

Koi

Not only can I create awesome art and write, but I can immediately email or post my work to Facebook, Twitter and Tumblr.  And the best part:  It’s F-R-E-E!  Seriously, I cannot stop using Paper!  And now with my Jot stylus pen, why would I ever want to?

So, there they are, my five favorite things this week!  If you haven’t already, be sure to try them or check them out.

You can thank me later. 😉

